(Not So) Guilty Pleasures

With the summer sun and warmer weather comes fashion you would feel stupid wearing otherwise; whimsical florals, short-shorts, and crazy sandals. Now, I’ve got to be honest with you when I say that I’m not the biggest fan of summer fashion seeing as I’m addicted to layering. However, this summer’s looks has renewed my faith in the sartorial integrity of the warmer months. So without further ado, here are my top 5 favorite styles for summer:

1. Rompers

Now it seems like alot of people like the idea of these amazing body-sacks, but for one reason or another refrain from purchasing them. Perhaps because of their blatant ’70s aesthetic, or maybe it’s because of their blatantly pre-school aesthetic. All I know is, that I absolutely LOVE this style for summer.

These lovely rompers are all from Urban Outfitters (since I couldn’t be bothered to scour Lookbook or search elsewhere). As you can see the romper can be very versatile as well as comfy and practical for the summer months. I own the center romper and I absolutely LOVE it. It’s great for wearing over a swimsuit or for wearing with some cute tights and heels for nightime. It also makes me feel like I’m 4 years old, which is always a good thing right?

2. Animal Print Tees

Once again, these items (which have become a staple of my wardrobe as of late) seem to lie in the love/hate category for most people. And for good reason! If styled incorrectly wearing an animal print tee could make you look like a sad 80’s reject instead of a playful nature lover.

Picture 2

You should know from previous posts that I’m a big fan of intentional kitsch, and specifically wolf tees. I suppose it’s because wearing a dangerous animal on my shirt makes me feel alot more dangerous myself! I really love this look from Tamara C. The animal tee paired with the distressed denim jacket adds a hint of grunge to an otherwise neat look. It also just looks damn hardcore, which is the important part.

3. Tie-Dye

I’m starting to see a recurring theme here. It seems as if all the things I loved wearing circa 1997 are making a comeback in my summer wardrobe this year. Curious. But whatever, if I’m regressing then I’ll do it in glorious technicolor! Tie-dye is another one of those things I mentioned earlier that I would feel silly wearing at any other time of year.

Whether it’s a deconstructed tank or a pair of wicked jeans, tie-dyed clothing has captured my heart. At least until I can wear faux-fur boleros and scarfs again!

4. Bodysuits/Leotards

I suppose these could have gone under the Romper heading, but in my opinion bodysuits and and rompers present very different aesthetics. Having been trained in classical dance for 8 years, I’m no stranger to the leotard. I find them really comfy to wear under shorts or skirts, and their breathable material make them great for summer. Here are two bodysuits from American Apparel that I’ve had my eye on for a while:

serve serve-2

I think it goes without saying that that I would NEVER wear these by themselves. But I think they could look cute if paired with some more conventional pieces like cutoffs or harem pants.

5. Crazy Sunglasses

This probably comes as no surprise to most, as sunglasses are one of the best parts of summertime, but my attachment to this particular type of eyewear is a bit strange. I already wear “normal” eyeglasses in order to see and my parents are super cheap, which mean I can’t get prescription sunglasses. This has resulted in my accumulation of several pairs of sunglasses that I hardly ever wear for fear of running into a tree or getting hit by a car.

SUMMER!

Here’s my collection… I wish. It’s sad, but my love for sunglasses seems to grow with each passing year. Perhaps this year I will finally make the switch to contact lenses so I can finally enjoy sunglasses properly, but until then, I’m content to ogle and sigh.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed my long misguided entry about summer fashion. To close, I’ll leave you with a classic summer track. Enjoy and happy shopping!

Alright – Supergrass

3 responses to “(Not So) Guilty Pleasures

  1. Oh man, I’ve been dying to find a perfect romper, there’s one from Zara I really like so maybe that one.. Really like the tie-dye one you have too!

    • Thanks! Rompers are the illest. I get up in the morning and I’m like “Ugh, none of my pants and tops look right together because I haven’t done laundryyyyyy!” And then I remember my good old romper and all is well. And Zara rocks! It’s one of the few places in Munich to by nice affordable clothes.

Leave a Reply

