The World Cup Created More than Cacophonous Vuvuzuela Noises

To preface, I present to you a question: When you think football song, what comes to mind? A scantily clad Shakira dancing vigorously perhaps? Or maybe K’Naan surrounded by various multicultural youths? Well, whatever comes to mind it is probably pseudo-triumphant, well-meaning but unavoidably cheesy outside (or, let’s be honest, maybe even within) the context of the World Cup.

I’ve been meaning to write about Manwomanchild for a while now. From the first time I heard that amazing bass line drop and the vocals that sound like Jonathan Richman if Jonathan Richman could sing in a conventional sense on “Marshall Street”, I was hooked. But as I am not the most diligent of bloggers, I failed to check my email for like 5,000 months and so, the wonderful track fell from my memory.

However, once David (who, by the way, is Manwomanchild) emailed me saying he had released a song in support of the Chilean national football team, I was keenly reminded of why his band had perpetually occupied the upper quadrant of my “next-to-blog” list. The song in question “Chile La Roja” is pretty much what all football songs should sound like. Part of the chorus is comprised of the atmospheric recitation of some of the Chilean footballer’s names and what sounds like an omnichord. Seriously people, this is good. It’s upbeat and really fun and you can definitely enjoy it being neither a Chilean nor a football fan. I say this with authority since I fall into neither of those categories.

The World Cup may be over, but it’s still nice to know that musically, something better than vuvuzuela mania was produced.

Marshall Street – Manwomanchild

Chile La Roja – Manwomanchild

One response to “The World Cup Created More than Cacophonous Vuvuzuela Noises

Leave a comment